In sync.

Posted: June 20, 2008 in Uncategorized

Well at the moment I and one of my friends are trying to sync folders between two computers. Our computers aren’t on the same network so that makes it a little nore diffucult. We tried doing it with a Briefcase. In order to get the briefcase from one computer to the other we had to put the Briefcase into a Compressed Zipped folder which, in turn, made the briefcase into a regular folder. So that was out. Now we’re trying to use LogMeIn and drag-and-drop the folder onto his computer. I doubt this will work but it’s worth a shot.

It didn’t work. When I tried it didn’t work so that’s out. I guess we’ll have to figure out My Network Places. We were trying to get My Network Places to work but we couldn’t figure it out so we went looking for another way to do it.

More later…

Comments
  1. Capheind says:

    Depending on your setup you have a couple of options. SFTP is probably the best in my book. Another would be to setup a VPN on the network sharing the folder and then use traditional windows file sharing. SftpDrive (http://www.sftpdrive.com/) is a commercial solution that can mount an SFTP drive on windows, but it runs about $40. I don’t know if there is a free utility to do the same thing. I know on Linux, Mac OSX, and BSD’s you can run SSHFS (http://fuse.sourceforge.net/sshfs.html) to do it.

Leave a Reply

