Buying a domain.

Posted: June 30, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’ve thought about buying a domain for a couple months now, and I’ve finally come up with a good one. If I do buy a domain name then that would probably require me to move to a different host. As much as I like WordPress I don’t want to have to pay WordPress $15 a year just so that I can use my domain name with my website. And I would also like a little more control over what I’m seeing on my website, Collors, fonts, layout etc. I can’t do that here on WordPress without paying WordPress money. So.

Comments
  1. Rico says:

    Hi, its always best to have the full control over ones website, so I think it is a smart decision you have made there.

    But you might want to be carefull where you do your search to see if a domain is available, some of the sites steal the domain you have searched for.

    Try read these blogs about the issue, its not a rumor, its proven:

    http://kevinboss.net/website-design/be-careful-when-checking-if-a-domain-is-available

    http://blog.domaintools.com/2008/01/network-solutions-steals-domain-ideas-confirmed/

    Because of that, I have now stopped using Network Solutions and GoDaddy as the sites where I search for avaliable domains, but also as the companies where I buy my domains. I dont want to support companies that does such amoral things.

    Those two companies is on my blacklist now. 🙂

    I have been recommended by a friend, that these following sites are reliable and secure:
    1. http://www.77gb.net (.com is for those who wish to become a free reseller)
    2. http://www.monikers.com

    This is just for your information. Just spreading my experience with others so they dont experience what I have. Spread the word.

    Good luck and best regards,

Leave a Reply

