Bumptop.

Posted: November 24, 2008 in Uncategorized

All I could say when I first saw the program called bumptop on a video sometime last year, was wow. Now I have it on my computer, in beta 15. What’s weird though is that I didn’t get an email that it was available until the fifteenth beta release. Check out Bumptop.com, then click Watch bumptop in action to see what you can do in bumptop, and so that I wont have to go through it all. What I think I like about bumptop the most is the way I can manipulate everything, I mean, I can throw the icons across the screen, put them into a pile then slip through them like a book, and although I can’t remember how I did it, I could make all my icons on my desktop pile up, then I would have them do something, then they would shoot up and then fall haphazardly down to the desktop, it was a lot of fun to do. It’s just fun to manipualte all of your icons like that, but I don’t know if it’s really practicial, I mean, I used it the day I downloaded it and today for a couple tests for this article, but I don’t use it regularly, and that’s because there’s nothing amazing it has to offer for my productivity, all in all, it’s pretty cool, but it’s not a necessity.

Comments
  1. Diego Deberdt says:

    What I like most about BumpTop is how it allows the user to visually interact with collections of on-screen objects in a way that, I think, is similar to how multitouch devices are being used. BumpTop also does away with organizing files in tree-structures; something which should have been done a long time ago. I’m not sure if BumpTop is the solution to the problem but there are some very nifty ideas in there.

  2. zachdude1094 says:

    That is really cool, to be able to put all of your files, say all of your pdf, doc, ppt and txt docs in separate piles, the flip through the piles as if you were reading a book.
    I think that the BumpTop interface would be a lot better on a touch screen interface, when you drag everything around with a mouse, on an interface that would clearly benefit from being on a touch screen, it somewhat takes away from the experience.
    I agree, BumpTop probably isn’t the solution to the problem, but it is very cool, with a lot of great features.

Leave a Reply

