Mikogo

Posted: November 27, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’ve been using Mikogo extensively for almost a year now, and it’s better than all of the other screen sharing programs I’ve tried. Although I’m looking forward to seeing online meeting sites like DimDim.com excel and acquire features like remote control, and maybe even video for more than one person. Although I’m looking forward to programs like that they are unfortunately difficult to set up, as I have experienced in the past as my friend was trying to set up a DimDim meeting with more than 10 people there, and me trying to give tech support over a basic text chat service. When I use Mikogo, although I have never used Mikogo with more than one person, Mikogo has always pulled through for me. So I guess this will be somewhat of a review, a comparison and a suggestion to Andrew who I hope will be reading this soon after it’s posted. The features of an online meeting service like DimDim are up to 100 or so attendants (that number can quickly go up to around 1,000 as you pay more for the service), audio for all if the person that called the meeting decides, and the obvious screen sharing function. One of the big advantages that DimDim has over Mikogo is that it can be viewed online, whereas with Mikogo you have to have the program downloaded. You can download dimdim and use it if you want to, but you don’t have to. Another big advantage that DimDim has is that you can attend the meeting by phone, with a phone number and password that DimDim will provide for you when you set up your meeting. I can’t imagine that being easy but I’ve never tried it so I don’t know. With DimDim you need to input a meeting id, just like in Mikogo, and a display name, which can be anything you want, just like in Mikogo. Now unfortunately you don’t have the option for remote control with DimDim, which is a feature that I think Mikogo excels at. In Mikogo you operate the meeting through the icon in your system tray. Just right click on the mikogo icon, scroll to the Switch Presenter option and click the name of the participant that you are going to allow to show their screen, you will always have control over the meeting however, and can take away remote control and screen sharing with the tap of a few keys. You can also schedule meetings with both Mikogo and DimDim, although I have never tried scheduling either, it would probably be a good idea to try. Now although Mikogo doesn’t have audio or video or even chat at any level, it has a Skype Extra, which, by the way, I’ve unfortunately never got the chance to try, I’ve always run Mikogo as a separate application from Skype. Since it’s an addon for Skype it provided all the features of Skype, audio and video, along with a chat service. I personally prefer Mikogo to DimDim, mainly because when I use a screen sharing service I need to have my video on, which I can’t if I use DimDim, and if I use dimdim and skype at the same time, that kinda defeats the purpose of having a one way video and audio that you get with DimDim. I also need to be able to have remote control, which I can’t get with DimDim. Now unfortunately I can’t try out the new Mikogo version at this moment, I have nobody to attend my meeting, but as soon as I start using the new version I will post about the changes.

Happy thanksgiving,

Zac.

Comments
  1. Hi Zac,
    Thanks for the review on Mikogo and for posting last week’s press release. Great to read what you think of our service and the features.
    Do try out the new version of Mikogo when you get the chance, and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
    I’ll keep you posted on further news and development.

    Cheers,
    Andrew
    The Mikogo Team

  2. zachdude1094 says:

    Nice pit cure Andrew.
    I look forward to hearing more from you, thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

