The not so genius of Genius and the genius of Pandora

Posted: September 29, 2009 in Apple, Internet
Tags: , , , ,

The not so genius of Genius and the genius of Pandora. Interesting title huh? I want to talk about why I don’t like Apple’s Genius feature and why I really like Pandora.

So first, why I don’t like Apple’s Genius. Awhile ago I dismissed this feature  as unnecessary and annoying. A stupid feature that would try and convince me to buy songs. I wasn’t totally wrong, but I wasn’t totally right either. Apple’s Genius feature is designed to convince me to buy songs, but based on my tastes in music, not at random. Depending on which of the songs in my library get played the most and which I rate the highest will effect what Genius recommends for me. This is great and all, but what if I really like the back Skillet, but I didn’t have any of their music? if I had artists similar to them then maybe I would still get recommendations of other related bands, but then again, maybe not. The point I’m trying to make is that Genius is dependent on what is in my library. I can’t say that I like the band Skillet if I don’t have any of their songs in my library.

That’s where Pandora comes in. With Pandora I can say that I like Skillet and any other band and not have any of their songs in their library. I don’t even have to have music to be able to get recommendations on songs I may like if I use Pandora. Why? because Pandora is an internet radio. I give it songs I like and it gives me suggestions on songs that I may like in return. I can give Pandora my top 10 favorite artists and Pandora will recommend similar songs from other artists and also play songs from those artists. I get the best of both worlds. I get to listen to my favorite music, and listen to similar music by other people.

I used to think that this kind of approach was ridiculous “Why would I want to listen to music by a bunch of people that I’ve never heard of before?” but now as I’m expanding my music tastes I think that this kind of approach is great. Go ahead, check it out. You don’t even need an account to try it out. Pick your top 10 favorite artists and put the in and listen while you read some of my other posts 🙂

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    I would have to agree with you on this one. There are so many songs that I’ve gotten via Pandora that i absolutely love. Unfortunately, though, Genius never gives me any of those songs, or even ones similar. I love my Pandora. 🙂

Leave a Reply

