We’re all under the illusion somebody cares

Posted: May 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

So why do you blog? What do you blog about? Those are two questions I’ve asked myself every time I started a new blog. Each time out of the 16 or so times I’ve asked myself this question, I’ve always told myself that I wanted to share what I knew with someone else. Noble goals, if I do say so myelf. Too bad it’s kinda pointless.

Lets take a look back in time, shall we? I currently have 18,595 page visits on this blog, not including mine. This is over a period of 2 years and roughly 4 months, as I began this blog in January of 2008. If we break this down, that’s around 664 views per month. Now out of those 18,595 views, there are 110 comments on various posts around my blog. Not take half of those out of the equation as responses by me to other comments, and you’re down to 55 comments. 55 people decided to comment out of 18,595.

Now go back to my original question: Why do you blog? Or as it should be said, Why do I blog? Well, as I said before, I blog to share what I know with other people. Huh, interesting. Seems like all those people I’ve devoted my time to over the past two years really haven’t learned a whole lot, seeing as only 55 of those people learned enough to warrant a comment to tell me so.

This isn’t a sob-story from a guy who wants page views and comments, I’m just trying to make a point. So why do you blog? Do you, like me, want to share what you know with an attentive audience? We all think we’re the greatest thing since sliced bread. Yeah, I said it. A lot of us think we know the right way to do something-some of us even believe the best way.  Some of us are right, too. But in this day and age I personally, and I know I speak for a multitude of people, don’t want to sit and read the ramblings of someone just to decipher the answer to the question I had asked. Half an hour ago.

There’s a book called Dreaming in Code, by an author who’s name I cannot recall, who had something to say on the mindset of programmers: If they can’t find it in a minute and a half, they’ll conclude that it doesn’t exist. Now how true is that, not only to programmers, but to the multitude today? I haven’t spent more than two minutes looking for an answer to a question in quite awhile; If I can’t find the answer to my question I try a new Google query, or try something else.

My point here is this: We bloggers may be trying to reach out to a large audience, or at least someone who will listen to what we have to say, but we’re all under the illusion that somebody cares!

I can’t really tell you why I wrote this, but it’s definitely food for thought. And if you learned something, prove me wrong and tell me about it in a comment.

Comments
  1. Plane Kid says:

    Hey Zac! This is Micah from Writer’s Workshop. I talked my mom into letting me have one by saying it would be a good way to share what I know with others, but just exactly like you, I found out the same thing: Somebody might look at my blog but they never comment. I completely agree with you that we are all under the illusion that someone cares. I love your website and look forward to getting on it often.
    Micah

Leave a Reply

